Skip navigation

Over the weekend, we went to a diner in Long Island City that the New York times put in its ‘10 Restaurants Worth a Plane Ride‘ list earlier this month. The food was definitely good. Was it worth a plane ride? No. I’m not entirely sure I would even take the subway to go there again. Lists like this are always questionable to me. I’m never quite sure how these restaurants get on the list. I don’t quite feel up to the task of convincing people to get on a plane to go to a particular restaurant, but I do have a list of My 10 Favorite Restaurants. Each of these places has been chosen for its food alone and each is a place I have been to in the past 3 years. There are others that have faded a bit in my memory, and they belong in a list somewhere. And I do reserve the right to change my mind. In no particular order:

Masala Zone, LONDON (favorite cheap eat)

Indian Accent, The Manor, DELHI (favorite fusion)

Restaurant Cetli, TULUM, MEXICO (favorite authentic)

Blue Duck, PERTH, AUSTRALIA (favorite seaside)

Landhotel zum Baeren (Am Kachelofen), BALDUINSTEIN, GERMANY (favorite Continental)

Pearl Restaurant & Bar, MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA (favorite high-end)

Crema, NEW YORK (favorite all-rounder)

Tate Modern Restaurant, LONDON (favorite high tea)

Swati Snacks, MUMBAI (favorite street food in a restaurant)

A Tavola, SYDNEY (favorite ‘fresh’-daily menu change)

And an eleventh; a restaurant that has unfortunately since closed

 

La Butte Chaillot, PARIS (favorite restaurant that is now closed)

That’s it for now.

Pearl, Melbourne

Masala Zone, London

One Comment

  1. What an interesting range of choices. This list quite literally spans the globe. I hope that I will be able to visit all ten.


Leave a Reply

