Skip navigation

Last week, I went to August and had some delicious foie gras, as always, with a pang of guilt. I hoped that the duck in question had not had too hard a life. And then I started thinking about the latest fall fashion-fur. I’m always itching this time of year, to get into fall fashion. It’s too late to buy summer clothes, and many stores don’t have all their fall stuff in yet. So I browse online to see collections on the runway, and then I start planning out what I’m going to buy.

This year, for the first time in my life I am actually tempted to buy fur. And this is all thanks to Malene Birger. I know, I know, fur is a big trend this fall/winter (faux & real) but no other collection made me feel this tempted. It’s a big dilemma for me. I don’t really like the idea of wearing a dead animal (but I do wear leather and eat fowl and fish…hmmm). Malene Birger does use ‘Saga Furs’, supposedly ethically-bred fur. Why not wear faux-fur, you might ask? Well, this is the other dilemma for me. I don’t like faux-materials generally. I don’t like synthetics, especially the ‘silky’ kind (I’ll make exceptions for the likes of Issey Miyake). When it comes to design, I just don’t like things that are trying to be like something else. For me it either is what it is, or I don’t want it. And so, every year, I avoid fur, both faux and real, because I can’t bring myself to wear either. But this year, if it’s really true that Saga Furs are ethical, then you never know, Malene Birger just might convince me.

Leave a Reply

